On Air
Showbiz Music & Gossip A full round up to today's entertainment and showbiz news with our resident 'girl about town'
  • Home
  • Entertainment News
  • 2016 best actress winner Brie Larson presented best actor award to Casey Affleck, did not clap for him

2016 best actress winner Brie Larson presented best actor award to Casey Affleck, did not clap for him

28 February 2017 Entertainment News

Fourth Estate Staff

Los Angeles, CA, United States (4E) – The 2016 best actress award winner Brie Larson, for her performance in “Room,” portrayed a sexual assault survivor and she was the one who presented Casey Affleck his award after winning the 2017 Academy Awards’ best actor for his performance on “Manchester by the Sea.”

According to reports, despite Larson being the one who gave Affleck’s award, she did not clap for him. In the movie “Room,” which is a film by Lenny Abrahamson, it focused on the story of a woman named Ma. She was imprisoned in a small shed for years by a man called Old Nick. She and her son were physically and sexually abused by the man.

Larson underwent a lot of things in order to be able to effectively portray the role of a sexual assault survivor. She shut herself from the rest of the world for a month and talked to psychologists. She is also an advocated now for sexual assault survivors.

During the awarding of Affleck, a lot of people gave Affleck a standing ovation as well as deafening applause but Larson stood silently on stage and many took to Twitter to take note of what she chose to do. One User wrote, “@brielarson not clapping for #CaseyAffleck was a powerful moment. Thank you. #RESISTANCE #thisisnotnormal.”

Affleck has been surrounded by sexual harassment allegations since 2010. Allegedly, he made repeated sexual comments and unwanted advances towards two women during the 2009 production of a movie. He denied being involved in such but he has been slammed by many for winning the best actor award despite the controversy surrounding him.

This awards season, Affleck did not only receive an award for his performance at the Oscars. He also scored awards at the Golden Globes, Critic’s Choice, National Board of Review, BAFTA, and Gotham. Larson also awarded Affleck during the 2017 Golden Globes.

Article – All Rights Reserved.
Provided by FeedSyndicate